Gambian MPs In Kenya For Official Visit

By Samuel Ouma

Delegation of Gambian MPs

A Gambian delegation, led by Gambian National Assembly Speaker Fabakary Tombong Jatta, arrived in Kenya on Monday for a week-long study tour of the Kenyan Parliament.

The delegation aims to learn from the Kenyan bicameral Parliament’s legislative and administrative processes.

On their first day, the delegation received an overview of the history of the country’s Parliamentary Service Commission, its establishment, and its mandate from the Deputy Clerk of the Senate, Mr. Mohammed Ali. They were also taken through the Parliamentary Service Act, The Role of Parliamentary Joint Services in facilitating the Two Houses, and an overview of Catering Funds, Car Loan and Mortgage Facilities.

The objective of the study tour is to strengthen the National Assembly as a critical institution of governance by learning from the mechanisms, approaches, and processes of the Parliament of Kenya, with a particular focus on oversight and government accountability.

During their visit, the delegation will pay a courtesy call to Senate Speaker Amason Kingi and his National Assembly counterpart Moses Wetang’ula.

They will also attend training sessions facilitated by senior members of key directorates of the Kenyan Parliament to be provided by the Senate Majority Leader Aaron Cheruiyot and his National Assembly counterpart Leader Kimani Ichungwa.

“Other key facilitators who will address the delegation include National Assembly Deputy Clerk Ms. Serah Kioko, Director Litigation and Compliance Mr. Anthony Njoroge, Director-General of Parliamentary Joint Services Mr. Clement Nyandiere, Acting Director PSC Secretariat Ms. Noor Ghalgan, and Executive Director Centre for Parliamentary Studies and Training Prof. Nyokabi Kamau,” stated Parliament of Kenya.

The delegation comprises Hon. Alhagie Mbow, Hon. Maimuna Ceesay, Mr. Gibairu Janneh (Director of Communication, ICT & Press), Ms. Sally Secka (Principal Accountant), Ms. Jestina Greywoode (Principal Administration Officer in the Office of the Speaker), and Mr. Ousman Jatta (Personal Assistant to the Speaker).

There are also Minority Leader Alhagie Darboe and House Clerk Mr. Momodou Sise.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button