Kenya:Former Chief Justice David Maraga Sworn In As Chair Of Police Reforms Taskforce

By Samuel Ouma

Ex-Kenyan Chief Justice David Maraga has been sworn in as the chair of a taskforce mandated to oversee reforms at the National Police Service and Kenya Prisons Services.

Maraga was sworn in alongside 22 other members on Monday, January 9, 2023, following their appointment by President William Ruto in December 2022.

The swearing ceremony held at the Supreme Court, Nairobi, was presided over by the current Chief Justice Martha Koome.

Carole Kariuki will deputise Maraga. Other task force members include Moffat Kangi, John Ole Moyaki, Ibrahim Jillo Guyo, Richard Kirundi, Elizabeth Mueni, Roseline Odede, Joash Odhiambo Dache, Doreen Muthaura, Terry Maina, Hassan Sheikh Mohamed, Jafaar Mohamed and Sammy Chepkwony.

The team will determine what obstacles prevent the police and jail systems from providing good service. It will also review and recommend improvement of the terms and conditions of service.

Related Articles

Back to top button