Kenya: Ruto Witnesses The Swearing In Of The Six Judges

By Samuel Ouma

President William Ruto, on Wednesday, September 14, 2022, oversaw the swearing of the six judges previously rejected by his predecessor Uhuru Kenyatta.

The judges were sworn-in by the Judiciary Chief Registrar Anne Amadi at State House.

“Congratulations to the new judges that have been sworn in. You have my very best wishes as you engage in your mandate and responsibilities as you serve Kenyans,” said President Ruto.

Ruto appointed the judges on Tuesday after his inauguration ceremony. They include Court of Appeal judges Korir Weldon Kipyegon, Muchelule Aggrey Otsyula, Odunga George Vincent, and Prof. Joel Mwaura Ngugi.

Also appointed were two Environment and Land Court judges e Makori Evans Kiago and Cheruiyot Omange Judith Elizabeth.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 166(1) of the Constitution of Kenya, I, William Samoei Ruto, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, appoint –Korir Weldon Kipyegon, Muchelule Aggrey Otsyula, Odunga George Vincent, Joel Mwaura Ngugi,” read part of the gazette notice signed by President Ruto appointing the appellate judges.

The six were among 40 others nominated in 2019 following a rigorous vetting process conducted by the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) between July and August of that year.

Uhuru appointed 34 judges in June 2021, but six were omitted due to integrity concerns.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button