At Least 17 Presidents Expected At Ruto’s Inauguration

By Samuel Ouma

Several leaders worldwide will attend President-Elect William Ruto’s inauguration slated for September 13, 2022, at Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani.

They include Uganda’s Yoweri Museveni, Samia Suluhu Hassan (Tanzania), Paul Kagame (Rwanda), Évariste Ndayishimiye (Burundi), Felix Tshisekedi (DRC Congo), Hassan Sheikh Mohamud (Somalia) and Salva Kiir Mayardit of South Sudan.

Others are Dennis Nguesso (Congo), Ismail Guelleh (Djibouti), Filipe Nyusi (Mozambique), Brahim Ghail (Sahrawi Republic), Emmerson Mnangagwa (Zimbabwe), Azali Assousmani (Comoros) and Lazarus Chakwera of Malawi.

Abiy Ahmed (Ethiopia), Umaro Embalo (Guinea Bissau), and Waveli Ramkalawan (Seychelles) will also attend.

Cuban deputy prime minister Ines Maria Chapman Waugh, Teodoro Nguema Obiang Mangue (Equatorial Guinea vice president), Mahamadu Bawumia ( Ghana vice president), David Mabuza ( South Africa vice president), Sorena Sattari (Iran vice president), Yemi Osinbajo (Nigeria vice president), Malik Agar (Sudan’s transitional council) and Maja Gojkovic (Serbia deputy prime minister ) will also be present.

Also expected are Algerian Spokesman Ibrahim Boughali, Togo’s Yawa Tsegan, former German President Christian Wuf, British Commonwealth Minister Vicky Ford, and India’s Foreign Minister Vellamvelli Muraleedharan.

President Joe R. Biden on Saturday announced the presidential delegation that will attend the inauguration of President-elect William Ruto. U.S. Trade Representative Katherine Tai will lead the team.

The other members are the United States Kenya Ambassador Meg Whitman, Colin Allred, the United States Representative Texas, the Honorable Mary Catherine Phee, Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State, and Monde Muyangwa, Assistant Administrator for the Bureau for Africa, U.S. Agency for International Development.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button