Zimbabwe’s independent election body welcomes appointment of electoral court judges

By Wallace Mawire

Judge President Justice Maria Zimba-Dube

The Election Resource Centre (ERC) has welcome the appointment of 18 judges of the High Court by the Chief Justice Luke Malaba to constitute the Electoral Court that will operate from March 1 to August 30 2022.

It is reported that the court will have exclusive jurisdiction to hear appeals, applications and petitions in terms of the Electoral Act, review any decision of the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) or anyone else made under the Act and shall have power to give such judgements, orders and directions in those matters as might be given by the High Court.

It is however, said that  the Electoral Court cannot try any criminal case.

It is reported that Chief Justice Malaba has appointed Judge President Justice Maria Zimba-Dube, Justice Garainesu Mawadze, Justice Martin Makonese, Justice David Mangota, Justice Amy Tsanga, Justice Esther Muremba, Justice Moses Foroma, Justice Jester Helena Charewa, Justice Phildah Muzofa, Justice Isaac Muzenda, Justice Benjamin Chikowero, Justice Pisirai Kwenda, Justice Christopher Dube-Banda, Justice Sunsley Zisengwe, Justice Munamato Mutevedzi, Justice Never Katiyo, Justice Elijah Makomo and Justice Lucie-Anne Chipo Munewari, to be judges of the Electoral Court Division of the High Court

The ERC says that it reminds the judges of their mandate to execute their duties in a non partisan and independent manner.

It is said that the Electoral Court must also ensure that democracy is upheld in Zimbabwe through timely, fair judgement and the fair application of the electoral laws of the land to all parties and candidates contesting elections.

The ERC said that it further encourages judges to practise self restraint in an environment marred by partisanship in order to curb electoral malpractices and set precedence on the recurrence of the same.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button