Kenya’s government officials continue to resign ahead of August 9 polls

By Samuel Ouma

Water CS Sicily Kariuki.

More than ten Kenyan government officials have resigned to pursue political ambitions.

So far, more than two Cabinet Secretaries, two principal secretaries, at least 10 Chief Administrative Secretaries have vacated their positions.

Their resignation aligns with the Election Act that requires all public servants to resign six months to an election if they wish to present themselves as candidates.

Devolution Cabinet Secretary (CS) Charles Keter was the first to relinquish his position on Tuesday to vie for Kericho Gubernatorial. The latest to leave is Water CS Sicily Kariuki. She will be going for Nyandarua County top seat on the Jubilee ticket.

Others CS who have stepped down are John Munyes of Petroleum and East African Community (EAC) CS Adan Mohammed.

Principal Secretaries include Joseph Irungu (Water) and Fred Segor of Tourism.

Chief Administrative Secretaries who have also bowed out are Joseph Boinnet (Tourism), Wavinya Ndeti (Transport), Ken Obura (EAC), Patrick ole Ntutu (Labour), and Gideon Mung’aro (Devolution). Others include John Musonik (Petroleum), Hassan Noor Hassan (Education), Lawrence Karanja (Industrialization), Mumina Bonaya (Education), and Chris Obure resigns as Transport CAS.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button