Kenya:Uhuru picks 4 IEBC commissioners

By Samuel Ouma

Kenya’s President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated four commissioners to fill the slots in the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEB), an electoral agency.

The four are Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi, Irene Cherop, and Justus Abonyo.

They were part of 36 individuals who were shortlisted for the positions and interviewed in televised proceedings.

More than 700 people applied to fill the four slots that fell vacant following the resignation of Roselyn Akombe, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and former Vice-Chair Consolata Maina.

President Kenyatta forwarded the names of the nominees to the National Assembly for vetting.

The Justice and Legal Affairs Committee will vet the four and table a report within 28 days as directed by the House speaker Justin Muturi.

Muturi asked the committee to notify the nominees and the general public of the time and place for the approval hearings.

“I hereby refer the Message, together with the Curriculum Vitae of the four nominees to the Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs for the Committee to undertake the necessary approval hearings,” said Muturi.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button