South Sudan: President Kiir Dissolves Legislative Houses

By Deng Machol

President Kiir

Juba – South Sudan President Salva Kiir has finally dissolved the Transitional National Legislative Assembly and the Council of States, paving way for the reconstitution of both houses.

The dissolution was announced in a presidential decree broadcasted on state – based television known as SSBC on Saturday’s evening.

This comes after overdue calls by the peace partners, international community and the country’s activists for reconstitution of the national legislature following the formation of a unity government last year.

The 2018 revitalized peace agreement signed, provides for the reconstitution of the Transitional National Legislative Assembly (TNLA) and the Council of States.

But warring parties to the peace deal has several failed to reconstitutes both upper and lower houses for over a year despite the formation of the executive arm of the government.

The transitional national legislative assembly (TNLA) will be expanded from 400 to 550 members comprising representatives from the peace parties.

The former Transitional government shall nominate 332 members, SPLM-IO with 128, members and South Sudan Opposition Alliance, or SSOA, with 50 members.

The Other Political Parties, OPP shall have 30 representatives and the Former Detainees with 10.

The Council of States, on the other hand, shall be expanded from 50 members to 100

However, observers, said the delayed of reconstitution of the legislative made it difficult for the enactment of laws that would assist the transitional processes, including reforms spelled out in the peace agreement.

Since then, the country is being run on a supplementary budget partly due to a lack of legitimate parliament.

The activists has welcomed the president Kiir’s move, further called for an immediate formation of commissions and other revitalized peace mechanisms.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button