Call Us Now: (240) 429 2177

A new frontier in global health: how a historic public private partnership in global health continues to break new ground

March 19, 2021

RWANDA, Kigali, 19, March 2021 -/African Media Agency (AMA)/- On behalf of the END FundAfrican Media Agency is delighted to invite you to join a webinar discussing “A new frontier in global health: how a historic public private partnership in global health continues to break new ground.” Join us on World Water Day, March 22, as the END Fund hosts Rwanda’s Minister of Health, Dr. Daniel Ngamije, and leaders from pharmaceutical companies Johnson & Johnson and Merck KGaA Darmstadt, Germany and World Vision in a conversation exploring the importance of private public partnerships in addressing the world’s most widespread problems. 

For decades, pharmaceutical companies have donated billions of dollars worth of drugs to tackle neglected diseases globally. This panel will share insights from Rwanda’s experience of this partnership, where continued progressive government leadership has been met with commitment and innovation from leaders in the pharmaceutical industry. As a result of this leadership, and crucial coordination with the water, sanitation and hygiene sector, Rwanda has charted a path towards ending sickness from parasitic worms for good. Participants will share lessons learned from this long standing partnership, and discuss the potential impact of recent contributions from Johnson & Johnson and Merck KGaA Darmstadt, Germany and how Rwanda’s success can offer a blueprint for similar efforts across the continent.

The details are as follows:

Panelists: 

·     Dr. Daniel Ngamije, Minister of Health, Rwanda

·     Lynn Leonard, Global Program Leader, Soil Transmitted Helminths at Johnson & Johnson Global Public Health

·     Dr. Johannes Waltz, Head, Merck Schistosomiasis Elimination Program and Global Schistosomiasis Alliance at Merck Group

·     Sean Kerrigan, National Director, World Vision Rwanda

·     Moderator: Joy Ruwodo, Director Public Affairs, END Fund

Date: 22nd March, 2021

Timing: 9-10am EDT / 1-2pm GMT / 2-3pm CET / 3-4pm CAT

RSVP: Please register here

In addition to the panel discussion, the webinar will have a group chat feature and time to ask the panelists questions. We also welcome any questions submitted via the registration link. We hope you will join this conversation.

Click here for the press kit

Distributed by African Media Agency on behalf of  End Fund.

Source : African Media Agency (AMA)

0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *