Breaking News
Pan African Visions

Mo Ibrahim Foundation announces no winner of 2019 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership

March 06, 2020

Mo Ibrahim
Mo Ibrahim

LONDON, 5 March 2020 – Today, the Mo Ibrahim Foundation announces that there is no winner of the 2019 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership. This decision has been made following deliberations by the independent Prize Committee.

Announcing the decision, Prize Committee Chair Festus Mogae commented: “The Ibrahim Prize recognises truly exceptional leadership in Africa, celebrating role models for the continent. It is awarded to individuals who have, through the outstanding governance of their country, brought peace, stability and prosperity to their people. Based on these rigorous criteria, the Prize Committee could not award the Prize in 2019.”

Commenting on the decision, Mo Ibrahim, Chairman of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation said: “Africa is facing some of the toughest challenges in the world – ranging from those connected to population growth, and economic development, to environmental impact. We need leaders who can govern democratically and translate these challenges into opportunities. With two-thirds of our citizens now living in better-governed countries than ten years ago, we are making progress. I am optimistic that we will have the opportunity to award this Prize to a worthy candidate soon.”

The Ibrahim Prize aims to celebrate leaders who, during their time in office, have developed their countries, strengthened democracy and human rights for the shared benefit of their people, and advanced sustainable development.

The candidates for the Ibrahim Prize are former African executive Heads of State or Government who have left their office during the last three calendar years, having been democratically elected and served their constitutionally mandated term.

The previous Laureates are President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia (2017), President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia (2014), President Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008), and President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007). Nelson Mandela was the inaugural Honorary Laureate in 2007.

The Ibrahim Prize:

  • Recognises and celebrates African leaders who, under challenging circumstances, have developed their countries, lifted people out of poverty and paved the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity;
  • Highlights exceptional role models for the continent;
  • Ensures that the African continent continues to benefit from the experience and wisdom of exceptional leaders once they have left national office, by enabling them to continue in other public roles on the continent;
  • Is an award and a standard for excellence in leadership in Africa, and not a ‘first prize’, there is not necessarily a Laureate every year.


  • Former African Executive Head of State or Government
  • Left office in the last three years
  • Democratically elected
  • Served his/her constitutionally mandated term
  • Demonstrated exceptional leadership
  • The Ibrahim Prize is the largest annually awarded prize in the world, consisting of US$5 million over ten years

More information on the Ibrahim Prize can be found at:

Prize Committee

The winner of the Ibrahim Prize is selected by an independent Prize Committee, appointed by the Foundation Board, comprised of:

  • Festus Mogae | Former President of Botswana; 2008 Ibrahim Prize Laureate and Chair of the Prize Committee since 1 January 2020
  • Aïcha Bah Diallo | President, Network for Education for All in Africa; Former Minister of Education in Guinea
  • Mohamed ElBaradei | Director General Emeritus, International Atomic Energy Agency; Nobel Laureate
  • Horst Köhler | Former UNSG Personal Envoy for Western Sahara, Former President of Germany
  • Graça Machel | President, Foundation for Community Development; Former Minister of Education in Mozambique; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member
  • Mary Robinson | Chair of The Elders; UN Special Envoy for El Nino and Climate; Former UN Special Envoy on the Great Lakes Region of Africa; Former President of Ireland; Mo Ibrahim Foundation Board Member.

Previous members:

  • Salim Ahmed Salim (Chair 2011 - 2019) | Former Secretary-General, OAU; Former Prime Minister of Tanzania; MIF Board Member
  • Kofi Annan (dcd) (Chair 2007 – 2011) | Former UN Secretary General, United Nations
  • Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala (2007 – 2008) | Former Minister of the Economy & Minister of Finance, Nigeria; Former Vice President, World Bank
  • Martti Ahtisaari (2007 – 2018) | Former President of Finland; Nobel Peace Prize Laureate 
  • *Source Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pan African Visions
Nigeria:Bond Ebigbo Stanley Publishes His Book “Grounded Ways To The Music Industry”
March 06, 2020 Prev
Pan African Visions
Equatorial Guinea’s Moves Investment Conference to November in Response to Coronavirus Outbreak
March 06, 2020 Next