Kenya:Alleged corruption involvement costs Wako his travel to US

By Samuel Ouma |@journalist_27

former Kenyan Attorney General and the current Senator Amos Wako
former Kenyan Attorney General and the current Senator Amos Wako

The Government of the United States of America on Monday 18 imposed a travel ban on former Kenyan Attorney General and the current Senator Amos Wako over what it described as involvement in ‘significant’ corruption during his tenure.

In a statement issued by the US Secretary of State Michael Pompeo, the ban was issued under Section 7031(c) of the Department of State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs Appropriations Act, 2019 (Div. F, P.L. 116-6) and Continuing Appropriations Act, 2020 (Div. A, P.L. 116-59).

Section 7031 (c) states that in any case the Secretary of State has tangible evidence indicating that foreign government officials have been involved in significant corruption, the individuals and their immediate family members are barred from entering US.

The ax has also fallen on Wako’s wife Flora Ngaira and his son Julius Wako. The trio are not allowed to enter and conduct business with the one of the super power countries in the world.

“The law also requires the Secretary of State to publicly or privately designate such officials and their immediate family members.  In addition to the designation of Mr. Wako, the Department is also publicly designating Wako’s wife, Flora Ngaira, and son, Julius Wako,” stated the statement.

According to Pompeo Wako’s sanction indicate that the US is working closer with Kenyan government in its effort to eradicate the menace. He reconfirmed Trump’s administration commitment in joining hands with government in anti-graft fight which has slowed development in the East African country.

“Economic prosperity for all Kenyans is only possible by defeating the scourge of corruption, which also requires a functional, fair, and transparent criminal justice system,” the State Department said.

Senator Wako served as Kenyan fourth and long serving Attorney General from 1991 to 2011.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button