Raila allies reap big as Uhuru reshuffle his Cabinet

By Samuel Ouma

President Uhuru Kenyatta and Nasa leader Raila Odinga at Harambee House recently. PHOTO | JEFF ANGOTE | NATION MEDIA GROUP
President Uhuru Kenyatta and Nasa leader Raila Odinga at Harambee House recently. PHOTO | JEFF ANGOTE | NATION MEDIA GROUP

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Friday made some key changes in his administration, including sacking the embattled Youth Affairs Principal Secretary Lillian Omollo over sh.468 million ($4680000) scandals.

In a statement to Media house by the State House spokesperson Kanze Dena, changes are expected to steer the achievements of Four Big Agenda which include manufacturing, universal health, affordable housing and food security.

“President Uhuru Kenyatta has this afternoon made changes in the Cabinet and Diplomatic Service as part of his ongoing efforts to re-engineer the government in line with his Big Four development blueprint,” State House deputy Spokesperson Kanze Dena said.

Raila’s allies have emerged the beneficiaries of famous ‘handshake ‘after landing the state jobs. Kathleen Openda, Director of Communication and Media at the Secretariat, has been appointed the chairperson of Kenya Institute of Mass Communication while Joe Owaka is the new chairman of the placement Board of Kenya Universities and Colleges Central Placement Services (KUCCPS). He was the Director of operations in the former premier’s campaign team.

Francis Owino was appointed as the Principal Secretary of Youth Affairs; Former Nation Television CEO Linus Kaikai is now a non-executive chairperson of Brand Kenya Board while the previous Deputy Inspector General of Police Joel Kitili will be heading Jomo Kenyatta Foundation.

Former Meru Governor Peter Munya, the Cabinet Secretary of East African Community has been swapped with Adan Mohammed, Trade and Industry Cabinet Secretary. Adan Mohamed is among the Cabinet Secretaries who are under fire over the contraband sugar which got into the Country illegally.

Principal Secretary Nelson Marwa has been moved from Devolution to Social protection, pension and senior citizen affairs, Charles Sankuli from environment to devolution.

David Mwere is now the chairperson of Kenya Broadcasting Corporation, Calvince Odoyo, non-executive chairperson of the Board of Lake Basin Development Authority; Linda Musumba, Board of Kenya Institute for Research and Analysis; Francis Wohoro, National Sports Fund Board of Trustees; Khadija Awalee, National Council for Children Service; Flora Mutahi, Anti-Counterfeit and Agency Board and Agnes Pareiyo is the new chairperson of Anti-Female Genital Mutilation Board.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button