New Map of Nigeria, as proposed by National Conference #NGConfab

The National Conference in its final report recommended the creation of 18 additional states to bring the number of states in the country to 54. The recommendation was made by the Committee on Political Restructuring and Forms of Government jointly headed by Ike Nwachukwu and Mohammed Kumalia. Initially, some Northern delegates kicked against moves to create additional states apart from the one proposed for the South-East which was overwhelmingly supported. But after series of consultations by the leadership of delegations, the Conference unanimously adopted the recommendation for the creation of additional 18 new states. The newly approved states as seen on the map bellow include; Apa from Benue, Edu from Niger, Kainji from Kebbi state Katagum from Bauchi, Savannah from Borno, Amana from Adamawa, Gurara from Kaduna, Ghari from Kano, Etiti from South East, Aba from Abia, Adada from Enugu, Njaba from Anambra and Imo, Oil River from Rivers state Anioma fror Delta state, Ogoja from Cross River State, IJebu from Ogun State Ose state from Edo New Oyo State from the present Oyo State. PREMIUM TIMES obtained a copy of the proposed map of a new Nigeria after the states proposed by the conference are created. New-Map-of-Nigeria                                                   *Source premiumtimes                            


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button