Cameroon: Indomitable Lions begin camping ahead of AFCON 2021

By Boris Esono Nwenfor

Cameroon is hoping for a sixth AFCON crown on home soil

The Indomitable Lions of Cameroon have begun assembling in the nation’s capital Yaounde ahead of the 33rd edition of the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON, to be hosted in Cameroon.

On Monday, December 27, the players began arriving at their hotel in Yaoundé such as Njie Clinton, Moumie Ngamaleu, Martin Hongla, Ovilier Mbaizo, Omossola Simon, Jerome Onguene, Toko Ekambi, Efala Komguep, Jean Charles Castelleto and Andre Onana. Meantime, Yvan Neyou, Ignatius Ganago, Harold Moukoudi, Kunde Malong, Ebosse Enzo all were expected to arrive on Monday evening, bringing to a total of 18 players that that is already in camp.

Cameroon is a five-time AFCON champion and the country will be hoping for a sixth crown to pull just one behind Egypt with seven titles. The Indomitable Lions last won the title back in 2017 when Vincent Aboubakar scored the last goal in a 2-1 victory against Egypt.

Vincent Aboubakar who is expected to captain the squad is amongst eight strikers including the return of 28-year-old Clinton Njie. The Dinamo Moscow forward will be making his third consecutive AFCON appearance with the 2017 AFCON MVP, Christian Bassogog also made the cut.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Simon Omossola (AS Vita Club, DR Congo), Devis Epassy Mbota (OFI Crete, Greece), Jean Efala (Akwa United FC, Nigeria) and Andre Onana (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands).

Defenders: Fai Collins (Standard Liege, Belgium), Olivier Mbaizo (Philadelphia Union, USA), Michael Ndadeu-Ngadjui (Gent, Belgium), Jean-Charles Castelleto (Nantes, France), Harold Moukoudio (Sanit Etienne, France), Enzo Ebosse (SCO Angers, France), Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo (Montpellier, France), Jerome Onguene (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria), Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders, USA).

Midfielders: Jean Onana (Bordeaux, France), Kunde Malong (Olympiakos, Greece), Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Napoli, Italy), Samuel Oum Gouet (Mechelen, Belgium), Martin Hongla (Hellas Verona, Italy), Yvan Neyou (Saint Etienne, France).

Forwards: Ignatius Gamago (RC Lens, France), Christian Bassogo (Shanghai Shenhua, China), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Bayern Munich, Germany), Stephane Bahoken (SCO Angers, France), Karl Toko Ekambi (Olympique Lyon, France), Moumie Ngamaleu (Young Boys, Switzerland), Vincent Aboubakar (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia). Clinton Njie (Dinamo Moscow, Russia).

The Indomitable Lions will get the ball rolling on the AFCOIN on January 9 when they face the Stallions of Burkina Faso at the Olembe Stadium. The team will then face the Walias of Ethiopia on January 13 before concluding the group stage against the Blue Sharks of Cape Verde on January 17.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button